Scroll Down

REVIEWS

  

TakaeraO reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We went to Glengarriff for a night, never expecting to find the finest food in the land. Simply amazing, the choice of the evening specials was unreal. The service was fantastic by each and every person we met. Checking if everything was okay. Breakfast was perfect. Seemingly there is a tasting menu which can be requested, supposed to be fantastic. The room was a cosy and beautiful view. Voya products are apt for being near the sea. All in all a wonderful find and getaway. Thank you to everyone at The Eccles Hotel for making our stay so amazing.

April 2022

 

Happyreviewer2016 reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Just had a relaxing Sunday lunch @eccleshotel with my wife and we were both were really impressed. Lovely staff, food was excellent, so tasty and amazing value. Loved the old decor, and quality finishes. Can highly recommend a stay or stop for food overlooking Garnish Island on the #WildAtlanticWay. Thank you for such a nice visit. We'll be back.

March 2022

 

Paula reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Wow, this hotel is lovely. The receptionist was very welcoming and the lobby had a beautiful view of the bay opposite very relaxing! Our room was a forest view room- was cosy with a modern bathroom rain shower with a coffee machine and Netflix. Next time I would book a sea view room but the room was lovely and clean. We had a drink in the bar the barman was friendly and we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink here. Our dinner was sensational the pictures speak for themselves. Special thanks to all the hard-working chefs and staff in the restaurant. Finished off in the morning post a nice breakfast in the hot tub. I will be back.

February 2022

 

Chloem425 reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

 Stayed here for two nights on our mini moon. A lovely hotel, very cosy with fires lighting every evening. Great staff. We even got free prosecco to celebrate our wedding. We availed of the complimentary hot tubs overlooking the sea. Our room was a little small but apart from that it was a great experience.

January 2022

 

Jennifer E reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Just spent two wonderful nights 30/31st Dec at the Eccles hotel & from food to service it was just exceptional. Food was just exquisite & complements to the chefs… Everything we had was excellent & I thoroughly enjoyed the wellness lunch, so fresh & healthy. The staff/service was wonderful and every one of the staff members made our stay very special. Thank you Eccles hotel team.

We plan to return & will recommend it to our friends …

December 2021

 

OlliePolly reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

My friend and I stayed here after a long arduous trek. From start to finish this hotel was absolutely beautiful. From the friendly helpful staff to the roaring fire in reception. Our room overlooked the bay. It was tastefully decorated and the shower was invigorating.
We had a 9-course tasting menu last night in the dining room which was so beautiful words do not do it justice. I would like to commend the head chef Keith - each course was a culinary delight.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. I cannot wait to return.

November 2021

 

Sarah O'Mahony reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Myself and my husband celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary on September 24th we stayed at Eccles Hotel for one night from check-in to check out the staff were amazing, I highly recommend this hotel .our meal in the restaurant was 5 star very talented chefs and amazing waiting staff. Our room was gorgeous very clean and spacious, we had a couple of drinks in the bar the staff were very attentive and friendly. Our breakfast was delicious very impressive and again all staff were fabulous we will 100 per cent be returning and staying longer next time.

October 2021

 

Orla H reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Had the loveliest stay here recently. Beautiful, clean room with a sea view. Comfortable bed and an amazing shower! I'm a picky eater and a vegetarian but breakfast was perfect as it had lots of choices and options suitable for my diet! The staff were so friendly and the entire place felt like a home away from home. Had only left when I started planning my return visit! If you're looking for a base to explore Glengarriff, Bantry and beyond with friends or even solo, Eccles is a great choice!

September 2021

 

Maurice M reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We stayed at the Eccles Hotel and enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and very clean, the food was fabulous and the staff were really friendly and professional. We will certainly return to Eccles Hotel again and we highly recommend it.

August 2021

 

Laura reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

For me, the service is the most important aspect of a hotel stay and in that regard, Eccles was 5 star. Right from check-in until leaving I couldn't fault it. Aaron on the podium arranging restaurant reservations due to Covid measures was a delight and so helpful. Special mention to Catriona on breakfast duty and Dylan on the terrace for Dinner one evening - both exceptional at their jobs!

Great emphasis on the staff and training them to such a high standard

Asides from that the room was beautiful and the food was delicious. Would recommend

July 2021

 

Sophie R reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

An excellent stay from start to finish
Exquisite food, and out of this world massage by Kim and greeted with a warm welcome by shelly and dave I will most certainly be back. Loved the new spa and the homely feel of the hotel, the room was beautifully decorated and extremely clean with spectacular views Thank you!

June 2021

 

Mr&MrsC reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

After months and months of isolation, we finally managed to escape to the Eccles Hotel set in a beautiful location overlooking the Bantry Bay

We spent 2 nights here in a warm and welcoming room with fabulous views of the bay. The room was classy. Very cosy and clean surf warm trendy colours, yet preserving the history.

We ate the most fabulous breakfast and dinner at the hotel on both nights in a safe covid setting.

The food was amazing, as good as any Michelin Star restaurant that we’ve experienced before. The scallops and array of taste sensations beside them were fabulous! It was art and science on a plate. My husband is still talking about the fillet steak! The homemade Irish soda bread that accompanied breakfast was soo good.

From the minute we arrived until we checked out, the staff were warm friendly and so obliging, especially reception. Our table waiter Patrick was so professional, as was the Barman Adrian, who was great craic and the cocktail 🍹 expert.

Can’t wait to return when the lockdown ends.

October 2020 

 

Kevin H reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Our third stay, for two nights this time. Yes, our room was small but the view of Bantry Bay more than made up for that.

This hotel scores on all fronts. Amazingly scenic location, short scenic walk into the village, lovely friendly staff, and fabulous food. Once inside the door, this hotel oozes relaxed and friendly vibes and is unique. Maybe because they are providing hospitals for over 275 years.

We have to mention all the lovely staff. Never intrusive but so friendly and informative. Adrian, the bar manager, must be one of the best in Ireland, and we must mention Kasha, so friendly, helpful, and professional.
Had dinner the two nights, and was very impressed with the good menu choice and quality of the meat, fish and veg. Top restaurant standard. I did spot the hotel has its polytunnel and herb gardens out the back.

We enjoyed the hot tub experience, again with the magnificent bay views, chill doesn't get much better than that.

Glengariff is a beautiful location in itself but also a great base to explore nearby Wild Atlantic Way. We did a good bit of cycling from there and would recommend the cycle to Castletownbere. Glengariff Woods / Nature Reserve is great for walking with different trails for every ability.

Already we are looking forward to our next visit to the Eccles.

September 2020

 

Catherine B reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

I've recently returned from three days at the lovely Eccles Hotel. Right from our arrival and the warm welcome from the staff, the stage was set for a break away from the city. Our rooms were recently refurbished and comfortable, with our double facing the beautiful harbour with a view of Bantry Bay. It was heaven amid Covid. Because the food was so nice the first night, we ate there for the next two nights. The menu is based on fresh, local ingredients, with a courageous twist! The breakfast kept us going for the day. Well done to all the staff there, keep up the good work! West Cork rocks!

September 2020

 

Maire D reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We stayed here for two nights, honestly was the best weekend. The room was so bright and clean with a beautiful view! We wanted to have just a relaxing break so we chose to have treatments in the spa on both days I honestly can’t say enough about Natasa and Kim they were so nice and went out of their way to make it perfect it was worth every penny we were both so impressed! Food was beautiful for dinner and breakfast and all staff no matter where in the hotel were always happy, upbeat and chatty Can’t wait to go back.

September 2020

 

Dom & Mary Conlon reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

After a week or so celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary, we visited for lunch. We were welcomed and escorted to our table, as due to current Covid-19 restrictions, aperitifs in the bar was not appropriate. A wonderful spacious dining room, with an excellent vista of Garnish & isles.
The 2 or 3-course menu was exciting with some unusual and interesting dishes. Smoked Beef Fritters and Roasted Cauliflower soup were delicious. Mains of 24 hrs braised Feather blade of Beef and Chicken Supreme were wonderful variations of classic dishes. The combination of flavours was delightful, albeit the portions too generous for these diners.
One dessert was unable to be overlooked so two spoons were requested with the Eccles 'Mess' berries, cream, meringue. It was magnificent.
The Head Chef has created a wonderful menu, served by the perfectly attired table waiting for people with a courteous and professional style. Nothing was too much trouble and this couple look forward to another visit to this delightful Restaurant in Eccles.

September 2020 

 

Rachel S reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We had the most special day celebrating our wedding reception in The Eccles Hotel, Glengarriff. The staff went above and beyond to ensure all of our guests and family had a brilliant time. The wedding coordinator, Marie, was so helpful, particular in the lead up to the wedding, during such uncertain times. Both the service and the food was exceptional. We are so delighted we chose The Eccles for our big day.

September 2020

 

Tom O reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We were having a leaving celebration for a colleague from work and had heard that the Eccles would be ideal. It was indeed magnificent! Some of us went down early and had massages and seaweed baths in the hot tubs out on the deck overlooking the bay. They said the setting, the therapists and the treatments were fantastic!
The rest of us were feeling a little jealous until we got in for our meal. It was a tasting menu which consisted of several courses with choices in some of them. I couldn’t begin to try to remember what we had but each was more unusual and more exotic than the next. So much of it was grown on the site and often growing wild in the hedgerows. The combinations of unusual tastes and textures was delicious. When Michael explained each of the dishes to us I wouldn’t believe how I would be able to taste such variety in each dish but each time I was surprised and delighted! The only disappointment was that I was not able to eat both deserts!

December 2019

 

Peach Vintage reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

From start to finish this weekend was amazing. Walking into the hotel you feel like you have stepped back in time, however it is not dated or needing of a refurb or need to be updated. Receptionist was friendly and helpful and smiling. we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights on a BB package and I used the spa facilities. We ate breakfast both mornings and had lunch there and the food was fantastic.
I believe the Spa is a new addition, and what an addition it is. Natasha organised my salt bath and was so lovely. the girl that did my treatments was also fantastic and I felt amazing after the morning at the spa.


Had lunch in the bar afterwards and we sat at a window seat looking out at the bay. Everything was so easy there, when we needed something, like an umbrella it was just given without question. I asked about renting bikes, receptionist said " just take them" nowadays its so hard to find places to stay that have such seriousness attached to their hotel policies. It was such a breath of fresh air to have everything so easy for 48 hours. Even breakfast in the morning, the ladies that work there it feels like you are having breakfast in their house, which is such a lovely feeling. we will be back very soon

October 2019

 

Fiona K reviewed Eccles Hotel- 5 Stars

The food here was amazing. 5 star quality. Highly recommend going. You won't be disappointed. The choice on the lunch menu was great. Beautiful tasty food. It felt like we were in a 5 star restaurant. A chef that obviously loves what he is doing.

October 2019

 

Sheilscon reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Fantastic mini break destination. This is a beautiful, unique hotel for a mini-break. Our room was lovely - newly renovated, huge bathroom and stunning view of the sea. Loved the old world charm and all the original features. You can imagine an episode of Poirot being filmed here. We had a superb dinner - every dish was like a work of art and delicious. Service was quick but we weren’t at all rushed. Lovely breakfast was followed by a soak in outdoor hot tub before we checked out. Really relaxing trip and we’ll be recommending The Eccles to friends.   

September 2019 

 

Noel D reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

What a Beautiful setting magnificent views from our room every morning. Excellent big room and ensuite very comfortable bed. Breakfast was brilliant and very nice and helpful staff throughout the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel. Hope to stay again. We had magnificent weather which was a bonus. Big thanks to all the wonderful staff for making it such a memorable holiday.

August 2019

 

Orla reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Very helpful staff and a very homely friendly hotel.
Looked after my elderly mum and aunt very well.
The rooms in the old section of the hotel are bigger than the rooms in the new section.
Bar food is great with vegan options. Breakfast buffet is extensive but vegan options could be improved.

August 2019

 

JnnyJ reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Such a tranquil location. Steeped in history. Fabulous fresh seafood on a great menu. The views from the rooms are spectacular. These staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Excellent base to tour the area from.

August 2019

 

AntarcticaGirl reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We enjoyed the grand style of the Eccles Hotel. We had a beautifully decorated room with a spotlessly clean all-white bathroom. The room was a good size and had an excellent bay view. The breakfast buffet has everything for a full Irish breakfast plus croissants, fruit, cereals, porridge, and yoghurt. The bar staff are friendly and provide good service. It’s easy to park in front of the hotel. You can also walk into town easily in 5-10 minutes.

August 2019

 

Joe reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We stayed 3 nights at the Eccles Hotel in Glengariff last week and enjoyed it immensely .The hotel has a spectacular setting with beautiful views of Glengariff Bay and we had a lovely ,updated , room looking right out over the bay . The service at Eccles was impeccable and friendly with all the staff trained to make our stay a very special one . The breakfast buffet had lots of choices between "the full Irish " and "continental " and we also had a very nice dinner on one of the evenings during our stay .
Glengariff makes a great base to explore the beauty of West Cork and we will certainly be back to stay again at the Eccles

July 2019

 

Caroline reviews Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Great hotel views were amazing staff were fab,really helpful and friendly. Room was spacious and beds were comfortable.Food was lovely especially the fry and waffles. Only negative we werent there long enough Will definetly be back.

July 2019

 

Deirdre reviewed Eccles Hotel - 4 Stars

14 of us stayed for 2 nights over Easter. The views from my room was beautiful onto the WAW. We were in one of the new refurbished rooms which was a treat. The hotel is going through some refurbishments but not to the discomfort of guests. We had a lovely time & the reception staff were so helpful with trip suggestions, maps, etc. The highlight of the stay was the food. We tried the restaurant the first night which was lovely & the bar food was just as good the 2nd night. The breakfast was also delicious. Great menus for all meals. Adrian in the bar was amazing, he looked after food & treats for the 8 children which allowed us adults to enjoy our meals. He couldn’t have done more. The entertainment in the bar was much better than expected. When we saw a guy setting up with his guitar, we expected some traditional Irish music which isn’t for me. But he played some really chill out, sing along classics which we all enjoyed. Would definitely recommend a visit to Eccles & tons to do in the area! We will be back...

April 2019 

 

Crediton9 reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

This magnificent characterful hotel is a must for any discerning traveller to experience, we were welcomed warmly and given a beautiful newly refurbished room overlooking Bantry Bay, which a special plate of chocolate and fresh raspberries and a message to wish us a Happy Anniversary, we explored the area close by and had a splendid meal in the restaurant, the staff couldn't have been more attentive We spent the last hours sitting by a roaring fire playing our guitar ! no one complained Thank you al at The Eccles for our stay so memorable. We will return.

March 2019 

 

Deirdre reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

6 of us stayed here for a night and place was loved by all. Very comfy hotel with very comfortable beds, big rooms with lovely views over the water. Food was excellent, staff were very friendly, lovely cozy fires lighting with lots of newspapers available. Will definitely be back.

March 2019

 

BMR2013 reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Attended the most wonderful wedding at this hotel in December. Stayed for a few days & so glad we did, the staff work tirelessly with a constant smile on their face, nothing is too much trouble. Food was fabulous, rooms were very comfortable with excellent beds and stunning views over the bay. Would recommend anyone to stay here or hold a wedding here. Thank you to all the staff!

January 2019

 

Catherine reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Lovely stay at the Eccles recently. Newly decorated room overlooking the sea. Full of old world charm with great staff. We ate in the dining room and it really was excellent, fabulous chef! Breakfast was great too. Highly recommended!

December 2018

 

Helen reviewed Eccles Hotel  - 5 Stars

From first contact by phone with Sharon and Sandra, the wish of the staff seemed to be to make our 2 night stay as special as they could. We had a gorgeous room, with 2 windows overlooking Bantry Bay and its stunning views and a lovely big bathroom. The fires in the lobby and bar were so inviting. Sitting there we got to meet everyone! The sense of a community and pride in their hotel among the staff and the wish to include guests in this was palpable. Eddie, the chef, is amazing, as is his cooking! The food was superb, prepared with real passion, and all fresh ingredients, many grown or foraged by Eddie himself. Adrian looked after us so well, we felt like we were very special guests, and this is what they do - they make you feel special. It is a great location from which to explore the Beara Peninsula and much of West Cork. We cannot recommend Eccles Hotel highly enough, except that we would like to keep it to ourselves! Thank you everyone!

November 2018

 

Thomas reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Have you ever had the pleasure of driving a classic vintage car? If so you will appreciate that it may not have the modern day conveniences of the latest vehicles but it does have a certain build quality that has allowed it to remain on the road and functional for such a long period of time. This pleasure can also apply to the Eccles Hotel. It has survived for 250 years and it is still driving well. This may be down to the foresight of tbe people that designed and built it or to the people that ensured that it remained true to its character throughout various restorations and renovations.

The Eccles hotel is a Classic well functioning hotel that will enchant you if you let it. It enchanted my wife and I and we believe that It has enchanted the fantastic staff who are the current curators of this beautiful hotel. We had the privilage to share a night with these curators last night. The hotel is in good hands. Thanks to the curators for a relaxing and comfortable stay. Fantastic dinner and breakfast in the bistro, an atmosphere and ambience that remains honest and true to the 250 year old foundation stone and the scenic setting that it proudly enhances. A real Classic.

November 2018 

 

Jo reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Not only is this hotel in an inspiring location, the welcome and hospitality we received was second-to-none. We stayed for a wedding and needed some technical support at the last minute. The staff could not do enough to help and went beyond the call of duty with good humour and grace. The food is delicious and the whole place has a warm, relaxed atmosphere. I highly recommend both the people and the place and would love to visit again.

October 2018 

 

Scotgard reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Recently had the good fortune to return to this charming hotel for another couple of nights with a group of friends. The view from the front door is therapeutic in itself. Staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. My favourite hotel in West Cork, needless to say I will be back.

September 2018 

 

Kathy reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

We had an excellent Sunday lunch in the dining room and the vegetarian options were so good. The chef is outstanding. The view is splendid, out over the bay.
There is a lovely helpful pleasant girl in the bar called Christine. She went out of her way to look after us.
We will definitely be back.

July 2018

 

Artz reviewed Eccles Hotel - 4 Stars

The Eccles Hotel has a great location and an amazing view of the bay from our bedroom
An easy walk into town where there are numerous bars and restaurants though the bar staff the hotel was good especially if you sit by the big open fires
Breakfast was good and a lovely chance the sit and watch the world go by
Good facilities including bikes
Glengarriff is an excellent location for Sherps peninsula, Mizen Head and the Beara peninsula ( which was an amazing trip)

June 2018 

 

Derek reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Excellent Food, Great friendly Service, Lovely views from the Hotel. Highly Recommended. Will be back soon.

April 2018 

 

Clotmg reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Just back from a lovely two day stay -Amazing location looking out across Bantry Bay. Great hotel and staff - Amazing breakfast both mornings - just across road is the ferry to Garnish Island - worth a visit - lovely drives in area just be aware that roads are narrow in places. If you just want to relax by open fires they have a range of books in the library -Thanks for lovely welcome -we hope to return.

March 2018 

 

Rachael reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 Stars

Beautiful hotel everything was perfect friendly staff with a lovely bar the logs burning in the open fire & amazing views of bantry bay lovely places to visit along the way we will definitely return.

February 2018

 

Gertie reviewed Eccles Hotel  - 5 Stars

We recently stayed in this hotel on New Years Eve night, and had a wonderful experience at the New Years Eve Ball. The dinner was amazing and the 1920's style Jazz Music was the best I've ever heard it. The fire was burning on our arrival and we were warmly welcomed for our 1 night stay. The Breakfast was the old style, you order at the table and the food comes freshly cooked and piping hot, I was delighted about this as it is so rare these days. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be revisiting in the future.

January 2018 

 

David reviewed Eccles Hotel - 4 Stars

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is very clean and super friendly staff. Very good food and breakfast is super. 

December 2017

Tripadvisor Traveler Rating
546 reviews
Tripadvisor Ranking
#2 of 3 hotels in Glengarriff
Recent Traveler Reviews
  • “Late lunch”
  • “Easter Meal”
  • “Hidden Gem”
  • “A Must..”
  • “Top dining experience”

  

Glengarriff Eccles Hotel has received an Outstanding Service Award from Gohotels.com