Scroll Down

Reviews

See what our customers have to say

Read our recent Customer Reviews: 

Helen reviewed Eccles Hotel  - 5 star
From first contact by phone with Sharon and Sandra, the wish of the staff seemed to be to make our 2 night stay as special as they could. We had a gorgeous room, with 2 windows overlooking Bantry Bay and its stunning views and a lovely big bathroom. The fires in the lobby and bar were so inviting. Sitting there we got to meet everyone! The sense of a community and pride in their hotel among the staff and the wish to include guests in this was palpable. Eddie, the chef, is amazing, as is his cooking! The food was superb, prepared with real passion, and all fresh ingredients, many grown or foraged by Eddie himself. Adrian looked after us so well, we felt like we were very special guests, and this is what they do - they make you feel special. It is a great location from which to explore the Beara Peninsula and much of West Cork. We cannot recommend Eccles Hotel highly enough, except that we would like to keep it to ourselves! Thank you everyone!
November 2018

 

Thomas reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 star
Have you ever had the pleasure of driving a classic vintage car? If so you will appreciate that it may not have the modern day conveniences of the latest vehicles but it does have a certain build quality that has allowed it to remain on the road and functional for such a long period of time. This pleasure can also apply to the Eccles Hotel. It has survived for 250 years and it is still driving well. This may be down to the foresight of tbe people that designed and built it or to the people that ensured that it remained true to its character throughout various restorations and renovations.

The Eccles hotel is a Classic well functioning hotel that will enchant you if you let it. It enchanted my wife and I and we believe that It has enchanted the fantastic staff who are the current curators of this beautiful hotel. We had the privilage to share a night with these curators last night. The hotel is in good hands. Thanks to the curators for a relaxing and comfortable stay. Fantastic dinner and breakfast in the bistro, an atmosphere and ambience that remains honest and true to the 250 year old foundation stone and the scenic setting that it proudly enhances. A real Classic.
November 2018

 

Jo reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 star
Not only is this hotel in an inspiring location, the welcome and hospitality we received was second-to-none. We stayed for a wedding and needed some technical support at the last minute. The staff could not do enough to help and went beyond the call of duty with good humour and grace. The food is delicious and the whole place has a warm, relaxed atmosphere. I highly recommend both the people and the place and would love to visit again.
October 2018

 

Scotgard reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 star
Recently had the good fortune to return to this charming hotel for another couple of nights with a group of friends. The view from the front door is therapeutic in itself. Staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. My favourite hotel in West Cork, needless to say I will be back.
September 2018

 

Kathy reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 star
We had an excellent Sunday lunch in the dining room and the vegetarian options were so good. The chef is outstanding. The view is splendid, out over the bay.
There is a lovely helpful pleasant girl in the bar called Christine. She went out of her way to look after us.
We will definitely be back.
July 2018

 

Artz reviewed Eccles Hotel - 4 star
The Eccles Hotel has a great location and an amazing view of the bay from our bedroom
An easy walk into town where there are numerous bars and restaurants though the bar staff the hotel was good especially if you sit by the big open fires
Breakfast was good and a lovely chance the sit and watch the world go by
Good facilities including bikes
Glengarriff is an excellent location for Sherps peninsula, Mizen Head and the Beara peninsula ( which was an amazing trip)
June 2018

 

Derek reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 star
Excellent Food, Great friendly Service, Lovely views from the Hotel. Highly Recommended. Will be back soon.
April 2018

 

Clotmg reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 star
Just back from a lovely two day stay -Amazing location looking out across Bantry Bay. Great hotel and staff - Amazing breakfast both mornings - just across road is the ferry to Garnish Island - worth a visit - lovely drives in area just be aware that roads are narrow in places. If you just want to relax by open fires they have a range of books in the library -Thanks for lovely welcome -we hope to return.
March 2018

 

Rachael reviewed Eccles Hotel - 5 star
Beautiful hotel everything was perfect friendly staff with a lovely bar the logs burning in the open fire & amazing views of bantry bay lovely places to visit along the way we will definitely return.
February 2018

 

Gertie reviewed Eccles Hotel  - 5 star
We recently stayed in this hotel on New Years Eve night, and had a wonderful experience at the New Years Eve Ball. The dinner was amazing and the 1920's style Jazz Music was the best I've ever heard it. The fire was burning on our arrival and we were warmly welcomed for our 1 night stay. The Breakfast was the old style, you order at the table and the food comes freshly cooked and piping hot, I was delighted about this as it is so rare these days. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be revisiting in the future.

January 2018

 

David reviewed Eccles Hotel - 4 star
We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is very clean and super friendly staff. Very good food and breakfast is super. 
December 2017

TripAdvisor
Know better. Book better. Go better.
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
Based on 564 traveler reviews
TripAdvisor Ranking #3 of 3 hotels in Glengarriff
Most Recent Traveler Reviews
  • Nov 11, 2018: “Weekend break”
  • Nov 7, 2018: “Belated review of a fantastic day as...”
  • Nov 7, 2018: “Evening Dinner...”
  • Nov 4, 2018: “Wonderful hospitality, exceptional food”
  • Nov 4, 2018: “A real Classic.”
© 2018 TripAdvisor LLC

  

Glengarriff Eccles Hotel has received an Outstanding Service Award from Gohotels.com